I was busy this past week with some home canning. I made an absolutely amazing tomato salsa and apple jelly.

I started with the salsa, the recipe I found uses canned tomatoes instead of fresh since that would have required me to buy tons and tons of tomatoes, that gets expensive, I did use fresh onion, garlic, jalapenos, lime juice and cilantro. Hubby cut up the fresh veggies for me ( he has better knife skills than I do) and after I combined all the ingredients, pureed it until it got to a nice non-chunky consistency ( I don’t like the chunks)  It turned out great, it yielded 7 pint jars, not nearly enough for me, and I’ve already gone through a jar and a half in 5 days, and it only took about 2-3 hours from jar prep to processing.

I can’t share the recipe since it is someone else’s and I’m pretty sure there is something somewhere that says I can’t do that.

The apple jelly was a simple one as well, I used unsweetened bottled apple juice from the grocery store, Sugar and fruit pectin, that’s it.  I bought everything store brand so after buying the jars it equaled out to be about a $1.00 per jar of jelly, which I’m pretty sure is cheaper than store bought jelly.  The recipe I used, which again I can’t share on here, yielded 7, 8oz jelly jars and took about 2 hours from jar prep to processing.

 

Next week I will be trying my hand at some more jelly and will let you know how that works out.

Leave a Reply

